Promoting Efficiency And Effectiveness In The Public Service

 

CSE is a small department with a big job to do. It is imperative that we work efficiently and effectively to ensure continued delivery of high quality services for Canada and Canadians. While some of the problems we are trying to tackle are so big we simply can’t do it on our own, others sometimes just need the ingenuity of a motivated person to coordinate a “fix”. Either way CSE seeks to foster a culture of innovation by empowering employees to experiment, collaborate and engage both internally and externally.

Providing regular feedback on employee performance

Talent Management

The Ingenia Talent Management Tool was launched in May 2016. This tool was created to consolidate learning management, performance management, talent management and succession planning. This year, CSE employees used Ingenia to capture their Performance Agreement. No longer a static, administrative document, with Ingenia Performance Agreements are dynamic, meaning that at any point in time we can add a goal, modify goals and even put them on hold as priorities shift to accurately reflect employee performance over the year.

 

Employee Recognition

Corporate Awards

CSE Corporate Awards honour and recognize CSE employees who have achieved outstanding results through their work while adhering to the vision and the values of the organization in an exemplary manner.

Instant Awards

Instant Awards celebrate employees who have gone above and beyond either in day-to-day activities or in their contributions to projects or initiatives.

Unofficial Shout-Outs and Ingenia Impressions

Employees regularly use CSE social media to thank or endorse the work of their colleagues informally.

 

Making it possible for public servants to experiment

Engineered Audacity

CSE launched Engineered Audacity, an initiative created to build a culture which supports innovative, audacious action across CSE and encourages employees to embrace and learn from failures through:


  • Epic Fail Week

  • Failure Report

  • Highlights and Lowlights

  • Audacity Gear
 

#GC2020 Story : “Audacity Gear” and “Fix One Thing”

Issue or Driver:

In order to keep up with the pace of our operations, we need to be creative, innovative and dedicated to continuous improvement. We also need to find efficiencies and reduce workplace stressors. However, getting good ideas off the ground can be daunting and sometimes very challenging, especially if your idea isn’t within the scope of your day-to-day work or there are conflicting priorities in the organization. We want to make sure that our employees, among Canada’s best and brightest, have the avenues and confidence to promote their audacious ideas for the benefit of the organization.

Action:

Following a very successful “Fail Week” in 2016, during which CSE employees from all levels showcased how they learned from failure, CSE launched the Engineered Audacity tile. This tile seeks to both inspire innovation and constructively embrace failure. As part of this effort, CSE recently introduced Audacity Gear, a tool designed to help give CSE employees the edge they need to pursue audacious ideas—big ideas requiring buy-in and longer-term commitment. Employees who are able to demonstrate the potential value of their idea are selected to receive the Audacity Gear kit which includes helpful reference material (and a dose of chocolate and caffeine should they require a boost!). Another employee-led initiative “Fix One Thing” set up a common space where ideas for day-to-day efficiencies and quick fixes could be registered. A few important successes were achieved; for example, one employee developed an algorithm to automate steps in CSE’s hiring process. The “fix” has been piloted with co-op student applications and has significantly reduced the time spent on matching candidates to potential areas of work within the organization. Work continues to find resources and cycles to address more of the ideas posted.

Impact:

Both these ideas have strong endorsement from CSE’s executives for the way in which they have motivated employees to come forward and share their ideas with the CSE community. In December, Audacity Gear will be given out to four employees with promising ideas. The ideas range from refining a specific operational policy to create efficiencies, to fostering increased collaboration with partner departments in the S&I community, and to streamlining HR processes around transitioning to and from parental leave to reduce workplace stressors. We look forward to following the development of these projects.

Overall, these two examples confirm that CSE employees have great ideas and are motivated to find better ways of working. These ideasharing initiatives also serve to highlight some of the failures in our processes, both big and small, and allow us to take action accordingly. The struggle, however, remains with demand for fixes exceeding the number of available resources, dependencies on policy changes for success, and other competing priorities. Despite this, CSE’s community of innovators are resilient and continue to promote communitybased solutions. We are inspired by their ideas and their dogged determination to improve our workplace.

 

Making decision-making more efficient

Bill C-59

The proposed CSE Act will clarify how we are authorized to operate in cyber space, protecting Canadians at home and abroad from threats to our security, stability, and economic prosperity.

Policy Suite Reset

Taking action to streamline and consolidate CSE policies to enable efficient decision-making.

Take Me With You Campaign

Encouraging managers and senior leaders to include junior team members in meetings about issues and decisions of importance to CSE.

Ask Me Anything (AMA) Session

Creating conditions for open, honest conversations between employees and senior leaders.

 

Improving services to Canadians through innovation and user engagement

Internally

Vision 2020

CSE’s Strategic Vision, launched in 2016, is the product of an extensive CSE-wide collaborative effort built in part through a crowd-sourced environmental scan.

Craft Discovery

Craft Discovery is about creating a space for holistic and collaborative conversations to advance specific Crafts in the interest of achieving organizational goals and improved service delivery.

 

Externally


  • Cyber consultations,
    Participated in Twitter chats,
    Facebook Live event

  • Conducted public Opinion Research

  • Published the Democratic
    Institutions Report

  • Attracted 5000+ Twitter Followers

  • Increased participation
    in public forums

  • Launched ASSEMBLYLINE
 

Be A Part Of Something Bigger

Through our CSE Community Outreach Program employees can volunteer their time in local schools and community organizations. Outreach gives employees the opportunity to put their unique talents and skills to use in the community. Employees can also have a positive impact on the community through the Government of Canada Workplace Charitable Campaogn (GCWCC).

 

#GC2020 Story : ASSEMBLYLINE

Issue or Driver:

We’ve all seen how cyber compromises result in significant financial losses, theft of intellectual property, large-scale privacy breaches and reputational damage. Today’s cyber threat actors include state actors, hacktivists, criminals and terrorists capable of a broad range of malicious activities, including disrupted services, ransomware and identity theft. As the Government of Canada’s centre of excellence for cyber defence and cyber operations, CSE provides advice, guidance and services to protect Canada’s most sensitive information and systems. With our unique mission and skills, CSE endeavours to be a trusted advisor in the cyber defence community, so that all Canadians can benefit from our expertise in defending against advanced cyber threats.

Action:

Enter Assemblyline—a malware detection and analysis tool developed by CSE’s Cyber Defence program. In October 2017, CSE publicly released the tool to the cybersecurity community. Assemblyline is designed to assist cyber defence teams to automate the analysis of files and to better use the time of security analysts. The tool recognizes when a large volume of files is received within the system, and can automatically rebalance its workload. The tool is designed to be customized by the user and provides a robust interface for security analysts. For example, users can add their own analytics in to Assemblyline, such as antivirus products or custom-built software. The automation that Assemblyline enables, allows malware security researchers to focus their efforts on creating new methods to detect malicious files and on strengthening Canadian networks.

Impact:

Assemblyline has already garnered significant interest from the cyber security community. In just over a month, Assemblyline was:

  • installed nearly 3,000 times
  • installed over 400 times during Public Safety Canada’s Geek Week
  • installed over 200 times during COUNTERMEASURE 2017

The free release of Assemblyline to businesses, security researchers, industry, and academia is an opportunity for the cyber security community to come together to take what CSE has developed and build upon it collaboratively for the benefit of all Canadians.

Une fonction publique dotée de processus, d’outils, de pratiques et de structures organisationnelles efficaces et efficients

 

Le CST est un petit ministère qui doit accomplir de grandes choses. Il est impératif que nous travaillions avec efficacité et efficience pour offrir au Canada et aux Canadiens des services de haute qualité. Nous nous attaquons à des problèmes qui sont parfois d’une envergure telle que nous ne pouvons pas les régler en solo, cependant, il arrive parfois que certains problèmes soient résolus par l’ingéniosité d’une seule personne motivée. Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, le CST favorise une culture d’innovation qui accorde assez de liberté aux employés pour leur permettre d’expérimenter, de collaborer et de s’engager à l’interne comme à l’externe.

La prestation régulière de rétroaction aux employés au sujet de leur rendement

Gestion des talents

L’outil de gestion des talents a été lancé en mai 2016. Cet outil a été créé pour consolider la gestion de l’apprentissage, du rendement, des talents et de la relève. Cette année, les employés du CST ont utilisé Ingenia pour élaborer leur entente de rendement. Grâce à Ingenia, les ententes de rendement ne sont plus des documents administratifs statiques, il s’agit désormais de documents dynamiques. À tout moment, on peut ajouter ou modifier des objectifs, ou en laisser certains de côté si les priorités changent, afin de refléter avec précision le rendement des employés tout au long de l’année.

 

Reconnaissance des employés

Prix du CST

Les prix du CST permettent d’honorer et de reconnaître les employés qui ont fait un travail exceptionnel tout en étant fidèles à la vision et aux valeurs de l’organisme de façon exemplaire.

Prix instantanés

Les prix instantanés soulignent le travail exceptionnel des employés qui dépassent sans cesse les attentes liées à leurs fonctions ou leurs contributions exceptionnelles à certains projets ou initiatives.

Félicitations non officielles et « Impressions » dans Ingenia

Les employés se tournent régulièrement vers les médias sociaux du CST pour souligner le travail de leurs collègues ou les remercier de façon informelle.

 

La possibilité pour les fonctionnaires d’expérimenter

Audace calculée

L’initiative intitulée « Audace calculée » vise à mettre en place une culture favorable à l’innovation et aux actions audacieuses dans l’ensemble du CST et à encourager les employés à considérer l’échec comme une occasion d’apprendre. Les activités suivantes ont été organisées à cette fin :


  • la semaine d’échecs

  • le rapport d’échec

  • l’initiative Points forts et points faibles

  • la trousse d’audace
 

Histoire #GC2020 : Initiatives « Trousse d’audace » et « Corriger quelque chose »

Enjeu ou facteur :

Pour suivre le rythme effréné de nos opérations, nous devons être créatifs, innovateurs et viser à constamment nous améliorer. Nous devons trouver différentes façons de faire des gains d’efficacité et de réduire les facteurs de stress au travail. Toutefois, il peut s’avérer ardu de concrétiser de bonnes idées, particulièrement lorsqu’une idée n’est pas nécessairement liée aux tâches quotidiennes ou lorsque l’organisme doit gérer des priorités conflictuelles. Certains des esprits les plus brillants du Canada travaillent au CST et nous voulons faire en sorte que ces personnes puissent proposer sans hésiter des idées audacieuses que nous concrétiserons pour que l’ensemble de l’organisme puisse en tirer parti.

Mesure :

En 2016, la semaine d’échecs a connu un franc succès : ce fut l’occasion pour les employés de tous les niveaux de parler des leçons apprises lors de projets qui se sont soldés par un échec. Après cet événement, le CST a inauguré le fragment MOSAïQUE consacré à l’audace calculée. Ce fragment vise à inspirer l’innovation et à voir l’échec d’un point de vue constructif. Pour appuyer ces efforts, le CST a lancé récemment la « trousse d’audace », un outil conçu pour aider les employés du CST à approfondir leurs idées audacieuses, c.-à-d. de grandes idées dont l’exécution nécessite la réceptivité des autres et des engagements à long terme. Les employés qui sont capables de démontrer le potentiel de leurs idées reçoivent alors une trousse d’audace qui contient d’utiles documents de référence pour les aider (ainsi que du chocolat et du café, au cas où ils auraient besoin d’un petit coup de pouce)! « Corriger quelque chose », une autre initiative dirigée par les employés, consiste à créer un espace commun où l’on peut consigner les idées permettant d’accroître l’efficacité et de trouver des mesures correctives rapides aux problèmes du quotidien. Quelques importantes réussites ont été atteintes grâce à cette initiative, par exemple, un employé a développé un algorithme qui permet d’automatiser certaines étapes du processus d’embauche du CST. Cette solution a fait l’objet d’un projet pilote consistant à jumeler les candidatures des étudiants coop aux différents secteurs d’activités de l’organisme; une franche réussite qui a vu le temps de traitement des candidatures considérablement réduit. Le travail se poursuit pour trouver les ressources nécessaires pour concrétiser d’autres idées suggérées par des employés.

Incidence :

Ces deux idées reçoivent un grand appui de la haute direction du CST, car elles motivent les employés à présenter leurs idées au reste de l’organisme. En décembre, quatre trousses d’audace ont été remises à des employés dont les idées semblent prometteuses. Ces idées portent sur les sujets suivants : créer une politique opérationnelle pour accroître l’efficacité; favoriser une collaboration accrue avec les ministères partenaires de la collectivité de la S et R; et, simplifier les processus des RH ayant trait aux congés parentaux afin de réduire les facteurs de stress au travail. Nous avons hâte de voir l’évolution de ces projets.

Ces deux exemples confirment que les employés du CST ont d’excellentes idées et qu’ils ont la motivation nécessaire pour découvrir de meilleures façons de travailler. Ces initiatives de diffusion des idées servent aussi à faire la lumière sur les petits et grands échecs qui peuvent survenir dans nos processus, ce qui nous permet de prendre les mesures nécessaires, le cas échéant. Par contre, il peut s’avérer complexe de composer avec le fait que les demandes de solutions dépassent de beaucoup les ressources disponibles, le fait qu’il faut modifier certaines politiques pour réussir et d’autres priorités conflictuelles. Malgré cela, la collectivité des innovateurs du CST est résiliente et continue de promouvoir des solutions élaborées par la collectivité. Nous sommes toutes et tous inspirés par les idées de nos collègues et par leur détermination à améliorer notre milieu de travail.

 

L’accroissement de l’efficacité du processus décisionnel

Projet de loi C-59

La proposition de Loi sur le CST définira clairement les opérations que le CST pourra effectuer dans le cyberespace pour protéger les Canadiens, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger, contre les menaces visant la sécurité, la stabilité et la prospérité économique de notre pays.

Renouvellement de l’ensemble des politiques

Prendre les mesures nécessaires pour simplifier et consolider les politiques du CST afin d’accroître l’efficacité des prises de décisions.

Campagne « emmène-moi avec toi »

Encourage les gestionnaires et les cadres supérieurs à inviter des subalternes à leurs réunions générales pour y discuter de questions et de décisions importantes pour le CST.

Séances « demandez-moi tout ce que vous voulez

Occasions d’avoir des conversations ouvertes et honnêtes entre les employés et les cadres supérieurs.

 

L’amélioration des services aux Canadiens grâce à l’innovation et à la mobilisation des utilisateurs

À l’interne :

Vision 2020

Nouvelle vision stratégique du CST lancée en 2016. Elle est le fruit d’efforts de collaboration importants à l’échelle du CST et repose en partie sur une analyse de l’environnement réalisée auprès du personnel.

À la découverte des métiers

Il s’agit d’une initiative qui vise à créer un forum favorisant les conversations générales et collaboratives sur des métiers particuliers et à déterminer la manière dont chaque métier contribue à l’atteinte des objectifs organisationnels et à l’amélioration des services offerts par l’organisme.

 

À l’externe :


  • Cyberconsultations, gazouillis sur Twitter, événements en direct sur acebook

  • Recherches sur l’opinion publique

  • Publication du rapport sur les institutions démocratiques

  • Plus de 5000+ abonnés à notre compte Twitter

  • Participation accrue dans les forums publics

  • ASSEMBLYLINE
 

Faites partie de quelque chose de plus grand

Grâce au programme d’approche communautaire du CST, des employés peuvent offrir de leur temps dans des écoles ou des organismes communautaires locaux. Ce programme permet aux employés de mettre à profit leurs talents et leurs compétences uniques au sein de la communauté. Le personnel peut également avoir une influence positive au sein de la communauté grâce à la CCMTGC et à la Campagne de charité du CST. Cette année, le CST a axé ses efforts pour aider la communauté et pour contribuer à changer le monde.

 

Histoire #GC2020 : ASSEMBLYLINE

Enjeu ou facteur :

Nous savons tous comment les cybercompromissions peuvent avoir pour conséquence d’importantes pertes financières, le vol de propriété intellectuelle, des atteintes à la vie privée à grande échelle et des dommages à la réputation. Aujourd’hui, les cybermenaces émanent de toutes sortes d’auteurs : les auteurs parrainés par des États, les hacktivistes, les cybercriminels et les terroristes. Tous sont capables de commettre une vaste gamme d’activités malveillantes (interruptions de services, rançongiciels, vols d’identité). À titre de centre d’excellence du gouvernement du Canada en matière de cyberdéfense et de cyberopérations, le CST fournit des avis, des conseils et des services pour protéger les informations et les systèmes les plus sensibles du Canada. Les talents que l’on retrouve au CST et sa mission sont uniques, donc l’organisme s’applique à devenir un conseiller de confiance au sein de la collectivité de la cyberdéfense pour que tous les Canadiens puissent tirer parti de son expertise de la défense contre les cybermenaces.

Mesure :

Le programme de cyberdéfense du CST a créé un nouvel outil de détection et d’analyse des maliciels : Assemblyline. En octobre 2017, le CST a annoncé l’existence de cet outil au public et à la collectivité de la cybersécurité. Assemblyline a été conçu pour aider les équipes de cyberdéfense en automatisant l’analyse des dossiers, ce qui permet aux analystes de sécurité de consacrer plus de temps à d’autres tâches. L’outil distingue les instances où de grandes quantités de fichiers sont reçues sur le système et est en mesure de rééquilibrer automatiquement sa charge de travail. L’outil a été conçu pour être personnalisé par l’utilisateur et propose aux analystes de la sécurité une interface robuste. Par exemple, les utilisateurs peuvent y déployer leurs propres outils d’analyse, comme des produits antivirus ou des logiciels personnalisés. L’automatisation qu’Assemblyline rend possible permet aux chercheurs dans le domaine de la sécurité contre les logiciels malveillants de concentrer leurs efforts sur la découverte de nouvelles méthodes de détection de fichiers malveillants et sur le renforcement des réseaux canadiens.

Résultats ou incidence :

Assemblyline a déjà suscité un grand intérêt au sein de la collectivité de la cybersécurité. En un peu plus d’un mois, Assemblyline a été :

  • installé près de 3000 fois;
  • installé plus de 400 fois au cours de la Semaine du technophile de Sécurité publique Canada;
  • installé plus de 200 fois au cours de l’événement COUNTERMEASURE 2017.

Offrir gratuitement Assemblyline aux entreprises, aux chercheurs du domaine de la sécurité, à l’industrie et au milieu universitaire est l’occasion idéale pour la collectivité de la cybersécurité de travailler en collaboration pour accroître le rendement d’un produit développé par le CST, pour que tous les Canadiens puissent en tirer parti.