Complaints to the Chief of CSE

Making a Complaint

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) Act makes provisions for individuals to submit complaints to the Chief of the CSE about any activities undertaken by CSE. The first step in making a complaint should be for individuals to gather as much information and documentation about the nature and circumstances of the complaint.

The written complaint should be forwarded to the Chief of the CSE at:

Communications Security Establishment
P.O. Box 9703,
Terminal
Ottawa, ON
K1G 3Z4
Canada

CSE is committed to providing a response to a written complaint in a timely fashion, usually within 30 days. Should a response take longer than 30 days, the individual who submitted the complaint will be notified of the delay in writing and provided with an estimated timeline for completion.

In order to submit a complaint to CSE, we require certain personal information from you. Before you use our complaint form, please review the following privacy statement:

Complaint Form Privacy Notice Statement

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) is committed to protecting the privacy rights of individuals, which includes safeguarding the personal information that you provide to CSE.  The personal information that you provide is collected to process and investigate your complaint under the authority of the CSE Act and/or other legislative authorities related to your complaint.

Failure to provide some personal information requested may result in CSE being unable to process your complaint. Personal information will be collected, used and retained in accordance with the Privacy Act. Personal information collected may be used and/or disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or is consistent with that purpose.

Protecting your personal information involves the use of appropriate administrative, technical, and physical security safeguards.  These measures are employed by CSE to protect your personal information against loss or theft; unauthorized access, use, or disclosure; as well as unauthorized modification or destruction.  The personal information that you provide is retained in the Executive Correspondence – CSE PSU 902.  You have a right of access to, correction and protection of, your personal information under the Privacy Act.  You may avail yourself of these rights by contacting CSE’s Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator at ATIP-AIPRP@cse-cst.gc.ca  You are also entitled to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada concerning the handling of your personal information.

Présenter une plainte à la chef du CST

Déposer une plainte

Vous pouvez déposer une plainte écrite au chef du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) pour toute activité entreprise par le CST. Votre plainte doit contenir les informations suivantes :

  • vos coordonnées (nom au complet, adresse postale, numéros de téléphone et adresse de courriel);
  • une description claire, concise et détaillée de la nature de votre plainte et des circonstances qui l’entourent. Veuillez préciser le nom ou le poste de toutes les personnes visées, la date et le lieu des faits en question et tout autre facteur que vous estimez important;
  • une description du résultat positif souhaité (les mesures que vous aimeriez que le CST prenne pour remédier à la situation);
  • tous les documents pertinents, y compris la correspondance avec le CST dans cette affaire;
  • votre signature et la date de signature.

Faites parvenir votre plainte écrite au chef du CST à l’adresse suivante :

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications
C.P. 9703
Terminus
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1G 3Z4
Canada

Le CST s’engage à répondre à une plainte écrite dans les 60 jours suivants sa réception.

Certaines plaintes peuvent être traitées rapidement alors que d’autres nécessiteront plus de temps en fonction du degré de complexité de l’enquête qui en découle. Si votre plainte n’est pas réglée rapidement, le CST vous tiendra informé du processus en cours.

Énoncé de confidentialité

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) s’engage à respecter le droit à la vie privée, notamment en protégeant les renseignements personnels que vous communiquez au CST. Les renseignements personnels que vous nous fournissez sont recueillis afin d’enquêter sur votre plainte et d’en assurer le traitement, en vertu de la Loi sur le CST et/ou d’autres autorités législatives relatives à votre plainte.

Ne pas fournir les renseignements personnels demandés pourrait empêcher le CST de donner suite à votre plainte. Les renseignements personnels seront recueillis, utilisés et conservés conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés et/ou communiqués pour les fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou pour les usages qui sont compatibles avec ces fins.

Nous appliquons des mesures de sécurité administratives, techniques et physiques pour assurer la protection de vos renseignements personnels. Le CST a recours à ces mesures pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre la perte ou le vol, contre les utilisations, les divulgations ou les accès non autorisés, et contre les modifications ou les destructions non autorisées. Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez sont conservés dans le fichier de renseignements personnels « Correspondance de la direction – CSE PPU 902 ». La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels assure la protection de vos renseignements personnels et vous donne le droit d’y accéder et de faire des demandes de correction. Vous pouvez vous prévaloir de ce droit en communiquant avec le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du CST au ATIP-AIPRP@cse-cst.gc.ca. Pour en savoir davantage sur le traitement de vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez aussi vous adresser au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.