Accountability and Privacy

CSE conducts all of our activities, including protections for the privacy of Canadians, within a robust system of accountability.

 

There are three main elements that drive our accountability and privacy protection regimes:

  1. The authorities in the Communications Security Establishment (CSE) Act, along with Directives, Orders and Authorizations from the Minister of National Defence. This includes independent oversight by the Intelligence Commissioner.
  2. CSE’s comprehensive suite of policies, procedures, and practices to guide operations while protecting privacy.
  3. Independent review of CSE’s activities by the National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (NSIRA) and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICOP).

The CSE Act, and Ministerial Directives, Authorizations and Orders

The CSE Act establishes and defines our mandate and authorities. The Act requires that CSE’s activities do not target Canadians anywhere in the world, or any person in Canada. It also requires that CSE protect the privacy of Canadians and persons in Canada.

From there, the scope and nature of CSE’s activities are further defined through Ministerial Directives, Authorizations and Ministerial Orders.

Ministerial Directives

The Chief of CSE receives instructions on the organization’s activities from the Minister of National Defence through Ministerial Directives. These Directives set out direction and guidance, operating parameters or the Minister’s expectations for CSE on a range of issues.

CSE’s activities must always fall within its mandate and authorities, and must be consistent with those Directives. Ministerial Directives cannot grant CSE any power that doesn’t already exist in Canadian law, nor can these Directives change or enhance any existing authority.

Authorizations

CSE must seek an Authorization from the Minister of National Defence when:

  • CSE’s acquisition activity may contravene an act of Parliament; or
  • CSE’s acquisition activity may interfere with a reasonable expectation of privacy.

For example, when conducting foreign intelligence or cybersecurity operations that may risk incidentally intercepting a Canadian private communication (as defined in the Criminal Code), CSE can do so only with an Authorization issued by the Minister of National Defence.

The Minister may only issue an Authorization for foreign intelligence, cyber security, or active or defensive cyber operations if he or she concludes that, based on the application submitted by the Chief of CSE, the activities proposed are reasonable and proportionate, and that there are measures in place to protect Canadians’ privacy.

To provide independent oversight, the Intelligence Commissioner must review and approve foreign intelligence or cybersecurity Authorizations.

In the case of Active Cyber Operations, in addition to Authorizations by the Minister of National Defence, the Minister of Foreign Affairs must also consent, and in the case of Defensive Cyber Operations, must be consulted. The CSE Act sets out additional conditions for these Authorizations, including that activities must not cause, intentionally or by criminal negligence, death or bodily harm to an individual; or willfully attempt in any manner to obstruct, pervert or defeat the course of justice or democracy.

An Authorization may be valid for up to one year.

Ministerial Orders

Ministerial Orders are an instrument under the CSE Act that allow the Minister of National Defence to designate the entities with whom CSE can work and share information as part of CSE’s foreign intelligence or cyber defence activities.

The Minister may issue three different Ministerial Orders:

  1. Designating the cyber systems of importance outside the Government of Canada (e.g. critical infrastructure). Once designated, CSE can provide advice, guidance and services to these system owners and operators.
  2. Designating the persons or classes of persons with whom CSE may share Canadian identifying information (CII), if CSE concludes that the disclosure of the information is essential to international affairs, defence, security or cybersecurity.
  3. Designating the persons or classes of persons with whom CSE may share information related to a Canadian or person in Canada for cyber security purposes, if the disclosure is necessary to help protect the electronic information and information infrastructures of federal institutions or systems of importance to the Government of Canada.

Privacy Measures for CSE Operations and Activities

CSE takes the laws, the Ministerial Authorizations, Orders, and Directives, that govern our work, and translates them into a very detailed set of operational policies. These policies also establish specific measures to protect the privacy of Canadians and persons in Canada in the acquisition, use and retention of information.

To ensure our staff fully understand and abide by our operational policies, we regularly train, test and verify their knowledge and compliance. An annual review and test are mandatory in order to access operational information. Any employee not passing the mandatory tests is denied access to CSE’s operational systems. Employees are also required to participate in mandatory legal briefings provided by the Department of Justice.

CSE’s operational practices are designed to protect Canadian privacy. For example, in the case where CSE targets and collects the communication of a foreign terrorist abroad who happens to be exchanging information with someone in Canada, CSE’s operational practices require that the intercepted communication first be assessed to determine whether the exchange qualifies as foreign intelligence. If it is, CSE analysts annotate the information and handle the Canadian information in accordance with the suite of privacy measures in place. If it is not considered foreign intelligence, the intercept is deleted.

In addition, access to CSE operational systems and databases that contain such information is limited only to those within CSE who require it to perform their job, and who are specifically trained and regularly tested on CSE policies and procedures.

When an incidentally acquired private communication is marked for retention, CSE must document and closely monitor the use of this information. Strict retention limits and automated destruction schedules are in place as additional protections.

These are just some examples of the measures that combine to form a robust suite of privacy protections that are an integrated part of CSE’s foreign intelligence and cyber defence activities.

Independent Review

CSE’s activities are subject to review by the National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (NSIRA), and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICOP).

NSIRA provides independent review of national security and intelligence activities across the Government of Canada, including CSE, to determine whether they were lawful, reasonable and necessary. NSIRA may also investigate complaints against CSE’s activities or the denial or revocation of a security clearance.

NSIRA is led by a committee of up to seven members, appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister, in consultation with the leaders in the House of Commons and Senate. It is entitled to have access to information required to review national security or intelligence activities across the federal government. NSIRA provides classified reports of its findings and recommendations to relevant ministers and produces an annual unclassified public report to Parliament summarizing these findings and recommendations.

NSICOP: NSICOP is a Top Secret security-cleared Committee of Parliamentarians that can review and report on any aspect of CSE’s activities. The committee is mandated to review:

  • the legislative, regulatory, policy, administrative and financial framework for national security and intelligence;
  • any activity carried out by a department that relates to national security or intelligence, unless the activity is an ongoing operation and the appropriate Minister determines that the review would be injurious to national security;
  • any matter relating to national security or intelligence that a Minister of the Crown refers to the Committee.

The Committee does not receive or deal with public complaints against national security and intelligence organizations.

Other accountability mechanisms

CSE has a comprehensive internal Audit and Evaluation program that examines our activities and operations, and makes recommendations for improvement.

CSE’s activities are also subject to review by various federal bodies, similar to other federal departments or agencies. These include the Privacy Commissioner, the Auditor General, the Information Commissioner, the Canadian Human Rights Commission, and the Commissioner of Official Languages.

Reddition de comptes et protection de la vie privée

Le CST exerce toutes ses activités, y compris la protection de la vie privée des Canadiens, dans le cadre d’un régime de reddition de comptes rigoureux.

 

Le régime de reddition de comptes et de protection de la vie privée repose sur trois éléments :

  1. Les autorisations prescrites par la Loi sur le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications, de même que les directives, les arrêtés et les autorisations du ministre de la Défense nationale, y compris la surveillance indépendante des activités par le commissaire au renseignement;
  2. L’ensemble complet des politiques, des procédures et des pratiques du CST qui servent à guider les opérations de l’organisme tout en protégeant la vie privée;
  3. L’examen indépendant des activités du CST par le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement (CPSNR) et par l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement (OSSNR).

La Loi sur le CST et les directives, les autorisations et les arrêtés du ministre

La Loi sur le CST établit et définit le mandat et les pouvoirs conférés à l’organisme. La Loi stipule que le CST ne doit pas diriger ses activités sur des

Canadiens, où qu’ils soient dans le monde, ni sur quiconque se trouve en territoire canadien. Elle stipule également que le CST doit protéger la vie privée des Canadiens et des personnes se trouvant au Canada.

La portée et la nature des activités du CST sont définies de façon encore plus précise par les directives, les autorisations et les arrêtés du ministre.

Directives ministérielles

Le chef du CST reçoit des instructions relatives aux activités de l’organisme de la part du ministre de la Défense nationale sous forme de directives ministérielles. Ces directives servent à établir les lignes directrices, les paramètres régissant les activités et les attentes du ministre à l’égard du CST relativement à différents enjeux.

Le CST peut mener uniquement les activités qui s’inscrivent dans son mandat et les pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés, et ces activités doivent être conformes aux directives ministérielles. Ces directives ne peuvent conférer au CST aucun pouvoir qui n’est pas enchâssé dans les lois canadiennes, ni modifier ni accroître les pouvoirs dont il dispose.

Autorisations

Le CST doit obtenir une autorisation auprès du ministre de la Défense nationale dans les cas suivants :

  • si l’activité d’acquisition risque de contrevenir à une loi fédérale;
  • si l’activité d’acquisition risque d’aller à l’encontre des attentes raisonnables de protection de la vie.

Par exemple, dès que ses opérations de collecte de renseignement étranger ou de cybersécurité risquent d’intercepter incidemment une communication privée d’un Canadien (tel qu’elle est définie dans le Code criminel), le CST doit obtenir une autorisation auprès du ministre de la Défense nationale.

Le ministre peut délivrer une autorisation de renseignement étranger, de cybersécurité, de cyberopérations défensives ou de cyberopérations actives uniquement s’il conclut, après avoir étudié la demande présentée par le chef du CST, que les activités proposées sont raisonnables et proportionnelles et que des mesures ont été prises afin de protéger la vie privée des Canadiens.

Aux fins de surveillance indépendante, le commissaire au renseignement doit examiner et approuver toute autorisation de renseignement étranger et de cybersécurité.

Dans le cas des cyberopérations actives, en plus d’obtenir l’autorisation du ministre de la Défense nationale, il faut obtenir le consentement du ministre des Affaires étrangères, et, pour ce qui est des cyberopérations défensives, il faut le consulter. La Loi sur le CST prescrit d’autres conditions quant à ces autorisations, notamment que les activités ne doivent pas causer, intentionnellement ou par négligence criminelle, des lésions corporelles à une personne ou la mort de celle-ci, ou tenter intentionnellement de quelque manière d’entraver, de détourner ou de contrecarrer le cours de la justice ou de la démocratie.

Une autorisation est valide pour une durée maximale d’un an.

Arrêtés ministériels

Les arrêtés ministériels, un instrument établi par la Loi sur le CST, permettent au ministre de la Défense nationale de désigner les entités avec qui le CST peut travailler et échanger de l’information dans le cadre de ses activités de renseignement étranger ou de cyberdéfense.

Le ministre peut prendre trois types d’arrêtés ministériels :

  1. Désignation de systèmes informatiques comme étant importants pour le gouvernement du Canada (p. ex. les infrastructures essentielles). Le CST peut alors fournir des avis, des conseils et des services aux propriétaires et exploitants des systèmes ainsi désignés.
  2. Désignation des personnes ou des catégories de personnes à qui le CST peut communiquer de l’information susceptible d’identifier un Canadien si le CST conclut que la communication de cette information est essentielle aux affaires internationales, à la défense, à la sécurité ou à la cybersécurité.
  3. Désignation des personnes ou des catégories de personnes à qui le CST peut communiquer, à des fins de cybersécurité, de l’information se rapportant à un Canadien ou à une personne se trouvant au Canada, si la communication est nécessaire pour aider à protéger de l’information électronique et les infrastructures d’information d’institutions fédérales ou des systèmes désignés comme étant d’importance pour le gouvernement du Canada.

Mesures pour protéger la vie privée dans le cadre des opérations et des activités du CST

Le CST s’appuie sur les lois et les directives, autorisations et arrêtés ministériels qui régissent les activités de l’organisme, puis les intègre à un ensemble de politiques opérationnelles très détaillées. Ces politiques mettent également en place des mesures précises visant à protéger la vie privée des Canadiens et des personnes se trouvant au Canada lors de l’acquisition, de l’utilisation et de la conservation de l’information interceptée.

Pour s’assurer que tout le personnel comprend bien les politiques opérationnelles de l’organisme et qu’il s’y conforme, le CST donne régulièrement de la formation à ses employés et leur fait passer un examen visant à vérifier leurs connaissances et le respect de la loi. Les employés doivent se soumettre à un examen et à une vérification chaque année afin d’être autorisés à accéder à l’information opérationnelle. Si un employé échoue aux examens obligatoires, il se voit refuser l’accès aux systèmes opérationnels du CST. Les employés doivent également assister à des séances d’information obligatoires données par le ministère de la Justice et portant sur les aspects juridiques.

Les pratiques opérationnelles du CST sont conçues de manière à protéger la vie privée des Canadiens. Par exemple, si le CST cible et recueille les communications d’un terroriste à l’étranger qui échange de l’information avec une personne se trouvant au Canada, le CST doit, conformément à ses pratiques opérationnelles, évaluer les communications interceptées pour déterminer si l’échange s’inscrit dans la définition de « renseignement étranger ». Dans l’affirmative, les analystes du CST s’assurent d’annoter l’information et de traiter l’information de la personne se trouvant au Canada en appliquant les mesures en place pour protéger sa vie privée. Si la communication interceptée ne constitue pas du renseignement étranger, elle est supprimée.

De plus, l’accès aux systèmes et aux bases de données du CST qui contiennent de tels renseignements se limite aux employés du CST qui en ont besoin dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, qui ont reçu une formation à cette fin et qui passent régulièrement des examens au sujet des politiques et des procédures du CST.

Lorsqu’une communication acquise incidemment est annotée aux fins de conservation, le CST doit consigner et surveiller de près la manière dont cette information est utilisée. De strictes restrictions quant à la conversation et des calendriers de destruction automatisés sont en place en guise de mesures de protection additionnelles.

Il s’agit là de quelques exemples de l’ensemble de mesures robustes de protection de la vie privée qui font partie intégrante des activités de renseignement étranger et de cyberdéfense du CST.

Examens indépendants

Les activités du CST font l’objet d’examens de la part de l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement (OSSNR) et du Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement (CPSNR).

L’OSSNR se charge d’examiner en toute indépendance les activités liées à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement dans l’ensemble du gouvernement du Canada, y compris celles du CST, pour s’assurer qu’elles sont conformes à la loi et qu’elles sont raisonnables et nécessaires. Il examine également les plaintes déposées concernant les activités du CST et le refus ou la révocation d’une habilitation de sécurité.

L’OSSNR est dirigé par un comité composé d’au plus sept membres nommés sur recommandation du premier ministre, après consultation avec les leaders de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat. Il bénéficie d’un accès à l’information nécessaire pour examiner les activités liées à la sécurité nationale ou au renseignement dans l’ensemble du gouvernement fédéral. Il remet aux ministres concernés des rapports classifiés faisant étant de ses conclusions et de ses recommandations, et présente au Parlement un rapport annuel public non classifié résumant ces conclusions et recommandations.

Le CPSNR, composé de membres du Parlement qui détiennent l’habilitation de sécurité TRÈS SECRET, peut examiner les activités du CST et faire rapport sur n’importe quel aspect de ces dernières. Le Comité a la responsabilité d’examiner les éléments suivants :

  • le cadre législatif, réglementaire, politique, administratif et financier s’appliquant à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement;
  • toute activité menée par un ministère ayant trait à la sécurité nationale ou au renseignement, à moins que l’activité en question constitue une opération en cours et que le ministre compétent établisse que l’examen pourrait porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale;
  • tout enjeu portant sur la sécurité nationale ou le renseignement renvoyé par un ministre fédéral au Comité.

Le Comité ne se charge pas des plaintes du public à l’égard des organismes de sécurité nationale et de renseignement.

Autres mécanismes de reddition de comptes

Le CST dispose d’un programme interne d’audit et d’évaluation dans le cadre duquel les activités et les opérations de l’organisme sont examinées et des recommandations sont formulées sur les améliorations à apporter.

À l’instar d’autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux, les activités du CST sont également assujetties à l’examen de divers organes fédéraux, dont le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, le Bureau du vérificateur général, le Commissariat à l’information, la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne et le Commissariat aux langues officielles.