Annual Report to Parliament on the Administration of the Privacy Act 2017-2018

Statistical Report on the Administration of the Privacy Act

Number of Formal Requests

During this reporting period, CSE received 10 requests under the Privacy Act. In addition, five (5) requests outstanding from the previous reporting period were carried over, giving CSE a total of 15 requests to process. This is a decrease from the previous fiscal year, when 23 new requests were received. By the end of 2017-2018, CSE closed eight (8) requests and carried forward seven (7) into 2018-2019.

Disposition of Completed Requests

CSE closed 8 requests during this reporting period. Of these, four (4) were disclosed in part, one (1) resulted in no records and two (2) were abandoned by the applicant. There was also one (1) request where the existence of records was neither confirmed nor denied. This can be attributed to a request for records which, if they exist, would be located in CSE’s exempt personal information bank (CSE PPU 040) which contains records relating to CSE’s foreign intelligence files. No requests were disclosed in full.

 
Table: Disposition of Completed Requests
Disposition Number of Requests
2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Disclosed in part 10 7 7 6 4
All Exempted 8 0 0 0 0
No records exist 39 10 3 8 1
Request abandoned 10 5 5 2 2
Neither confirm nor Deny   2 1 6 1

Neither Confirm Nor Deny

Section 16(2) of the Act states that institutions do not have to tell a requester whether a record exists. When notifying a requester that it is invoking this provision, institutions must also indicate the part of the Act on which a refusal could reasonably be expected to be based if the record existed. Section 16(2) was designed to address situations in which the mere confirmation of a record’s existence (or non-existence) would reveal information that could be protected under the Act. It is recommended that the application of section 16(2) be limited to circumstances where the confirmation or denial of the existence of a record would be injurious to Canada’s foreign relations, the defence of Canada, law enforcement activities and the safety of individuals, and the possible disclosure of personal information. The application of subsection 16(2) was used on one (1) occasion during the 2017-2018 fiscal year.

Completion Time

During the 2017-2018 Fiscal Year, seven (7) of the completed Privacy Requests were closed within the legislative timeframe. The efficiency of the processing of Privacy Act requests has increased since CSE received its delegation in 2013. In general, the requests received during 2017-2018 were also less complex than those received in previous years.

 
Table: Completion Time
Completion Time Number of Requests
2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Closed within 30 days 52 18 12 22 7
31 to 60 days 5 1 0 0 0
61 to 120 days 9 1 2 0 1
121 to 180 days 1 0 0 0 0
181 to 365 days 0 1 1 0 0
More than 365 days 0 3 1 0 0

Exemptions to the Release of Information

The most common exemptions applied at CSE were sections 21 and 26 of the Privacy Act. Of the four (4) requests that were disclosed in part, section 21 was applied in all cases to protect information which could be reasonably expected to be injurious to the defence of Canada. Section 26 was applied in three (3) requests to protect information about an individual other than the applicant. The application of these exemptions is consistent with previous reporting periods.

Extension of the Time Limit

One (1) extension, based on Section 15 (a)(i) of the Privacy Act relating to interference of operations, was taken on requests under the Privacy Act during the 2017-2018 fiscal year.

Consultations

CSE was consulted on two (2) requests during 2017-2018. These requests, received from another federal government institution, contained a total of 64 pages and were both closed during the reporting period. This number is consistent with consultations that were received in previous reporting periods.

Disclosure of Personal Information Under Paragraph 8(2)(m)

Subsection 8(2) of the Privacy Act describes the circumstances under which a government institution may disclose personal information under its control without the consent of the individual to whom the information relates. Such disclosures are discretionary and are subject to any other Act of Parliament.

Paragraph 8(2)(m) stipulates that an institution may disclose personal information for any purpose where, in the opinion of the head of the institution, the public interest in the disclosure clearly outweighs any invasion of privacy that could result from it or where the disclosure would clearly benefit the individual to whom the information relates.

CSE did not disclose any personal information pursuant to paragraph 8(2)(m) during the reporting period.

Fees and Costs

Total expenditures to administer the Privacy Act were $358,603. This represents the forecasted increase in expenditures from the previous fiscal year due to the establishment of the Privacy Policy and Governance team.

Complaints, Judicial Review and Audits

Individuals who are not satisfied with the processing of their privacy request or who feel that their personal information has been improperly collected, used or disclosed can file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

CSE received two (2) complaints during the fiscal year. Two (2) previously-existing complaints were closed. One complaint was settled in the course of investigation, while the other was resolved, but is presently under judicial review in 2017-2018.

CSE’s Audit and Evaluation team continued their audit of CSE’s compliance with the Government of Canada Privacy Act and Privacy Regulations. The audit focuses on CSE’s compliance with the Privacy Act. It assess the extent to which CSE has developed and effectively uses its policy framework and administrative practices, ensuring sufficient governance, controls and risk management processes are in place to protect and manage personal information. The results and recommendations following this audit are expected in 2018-2019.

Monitoring Compliance

Using our case management software, the ATIP Office continued to produce reports on the time taken to process requests. These reports were shared with our ATIP Coordinator throughout the fiscal year. CSE’s Executive Committee (made up of DM and ADM level executives) is also informed of the status of Privacy Act requests on a weekly basis. CSE will continue to focus on improving our timeliness in 2018-2019.

Material Privacy Breaches

There were no material privacy breaches reported during the 2017-2018 fiscal year.

Rapport annuel au Parlement sur l’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels 2017-2018

Rapport statistique sur l’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Nombre de demandes officielles

Au cours de la période visée, le CST a reçu 10 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. De plus, le CST a traité cinq demandes restées en suspens au cours de l’exercice précédent, ce qui porte le nombre total de demandes à traiter à 15. Il s’agit d’une diminution par rapport à l’exercice précédent, où 23 nouvelles demandes avaient été reçues. À la fin de l’exercice 2017-2018, le CST avait complété huit demandes et en avait reporté sept à l’exercice 2018-2019.

Disposition des demandes complétées

Le CST a complété huit demandes au cours de la période visée. De ce nombre, quatre demandes ont donné lieu à la communication partielle de documents. Aucun document n’existait dans un cas, et deux demandes ont été abandonnées par le demandeur. Dans un cas, le CST a refusé de confirmer ou de nier l’existence de documents. Cela s’explique par le fait que les demandes concernent des documents se trouvant dans des fichiers de renseignements inconsultables (CST PPU 040) qui renferment des renseignements personnels liés aux fichiers du CST concernant le renseignement étranger. Aucune demande n’a entraîné une divulgation complète des renseignements demandés.

 
Tableau : Disposition des demandes complétées
Disposition Nombre de demandes
2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Communication partielle 10 7 7 6 4
Exception totale 8 0 0 0 0
Aucun document n'existe 39 10 3 8 1
Demande abandonée 10 5 5 2 2
Ni confirmée ni niée 0 2 1 6 1

Ne pas confirmer ou nier l’existence d’un document

Le paragraphe 16(2) de la Loi précise que les institutions ne sont pas obligées de faire état de l’existence d’un document. Lorsqu’elles avisent un demandeur qu’elles invoquent cette disposition, les institutions doivent aussi indiquer l’article de la Loi sur lequel un refus pourrait raisonnablement se fonder si le document existait. Le paragraphe 16(2) a été élaboré pour résoudre les situations dans lesquelles la simple confirmation de l’existence (ou la non-existence) d’un document pourrait révéler de l’information autrement protégée en vertu de la Loi. On recommande de limiter l’application du paragraphe 16(2) aux cas où le fait de confirmer ou de nier l’existence d’un document risquerait de causer préjudice aux relations étrangères du Canada, à la défense du Canada, aux activités d’application de la loi et à la sécurité des individus, ainsi que de divulguer des renseignements personnels. Le paragraphe 16(2) a été invoqué à une seule occasion au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018.

Délai de traitement

Au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018, sept demandes parmi celles qui ont été complétées ont été closes dans les délais impartis par la loi. L’efficacité du traitement des demandes faites en vertu de la Loi s’est accrue depuis que le CST a reçu cette responsabilité en 2013. En général, les demandes reçues en 2017-2018 étaient moins complexes que celles reçues au cours des années précédentes.

 
Tableau : Délai de traitement
Délai de traitement Nombre de demandes
2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Moins de 30 jours 52 18 12 22 7
De 31 à 60 jours 5 1 0 0 0
De 61 à 120 jours 9 1 2 0 1
De 121 à 180 jours 1 0 0 0 0
De 181 à 365 jours 0 1 1 0 0
Plus de 365 jours 0 3 1 0 0

Exceptions concernant la communication de renseignements

Les exceptions les plus courantes appliquées au CST se rapportaient aux articles 21 et 26 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. L’article 21 a été invoqué dans tous les quatre cas de demandes ayant donné lieu à une communication partielle afin de protéger des renseignements qui risqueraient raisonnablement de causer préjudice à la défense du Canada, tandis que l’article 26 a été invoqué à trois reprises pour protéger des renseignements sur un autre individu que celui qui a fait la demande. L’application de ces deux exceptions n’est ni en hausse ni en baisse par rapport aux années précédentes.

Prorogation du délai

Au cours de l’année 2017-2018, un délai a été prorogé pour une demande présentée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels conformément à l’alinéa 15(a)i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels lié à l’entrave au fonctionnement.

Consultations

Au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018, le CST a reçu deux demandes de consultation. Ces demandes provenaient d’une autre institution gouvernementale, ont été complétées pendant la période visée et contenaient un total de 64 pages. Les deux demandes ont été fermées pendant la période visée par ce rapport. Ce nombre correspond au nombre de demandes de consultation qui ont été reçues au cours de l’exercice précédent.

Communication de renseignements personnels en vertu de l’alinéa 8(2)m)

Le paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels décrit les circonstances dans lesquelles les renseignements personnels qui relèvent d’une institution gouvernementale peuvent être communiqués sans le consentement de l’individu qu’ils concernent. Ces communications sont discrétionnaires et assujetties aux autres lois fédérales.

Selon l’alinéa 8(2)m), une institution peut communiquer des renseignements personnels à toute autre fin dans les cas où, de l’avis du responsable de l’institution, des raisons d’intérêt public justifieraient nettement une éventuelle violation de la vie privée ou l’individu concerné en tirerait un avantage certain.

Le CST n’a communiqué aucun renseignement personnel en vertu de l’alinéa 8(2)m) au cours de la période visée.

Frais et coûts

Les dépenses totales engagées pour appliquer la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels s’élevaient à 358 603 $. Ce chiffre correspond à l’augmentation prévues des dépenses par rapport à l’exercice précédent imputable à la mise sur pied du Bureau de la gouvernance et des politiques en matière de renseignements personnels.

Plaintes, examens judiciaires et vérifications

Les personnes qui sont insatisfaites du traitement de leur demande de communication de renseignements personnels ou qui croient que leurs renseignements personnels ont été incorrectement recueillis, utilisés ou communiqués peuvent déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Le CST a reçu deux plaintes pendant l’exercice visé. Deux dossiers de plaintes existants ont été clos. Une plainte a été réglée au cours de l’enquête connexe, et l’autre a été réglée, mais fait l’objet d’une révision judiciaire en 2017-2018.

L’équipe de la Vérification et de l’évaluation du CST a continué la vérification de la conformité du CST à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et au Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La vérification portait sur la conformité du CST à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La vérification a évalué dans quelle mesure le CST a mis en place et mis en oeuvre un cadre de politiques et de pratiques administratives pour veiller à ce qu’une gouvernance, des contrôles et des processus de gestion de risques suffisants soient mis en place pour protéger et gérer les renseignements personnels. Les résultats et recommandations formulées à la suite de cette vérification sont attendus en 2018-2019.

Surveillance de la conformité

À l’aide de son logiciel de gestion des cas, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a continué de produire des rapports sur les délais de traitement des demandes. Ces rapports ont été fournis au coordinateur de l’AIPRP du CST tout au long de l’exercice. Le Comité exécutif du CST (composé de membres de la direction de niveaux SM et SMA) est mis au courant chaque semaine de l’état des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le CST poursuivra ses efforts en vue d’améliorer la rapidité du traitement des demandes en 2018-2019.

Atteintes substantielles à la vie privée

Aucune atteinte substantielle à la vie privée n’a été signalée pour l’exercice 2017-2018.