Canada and Allies Identify China as Responsible for Cyber-Compromise

Cyber security is one of the most serious economic and national security challenges facing Canada and its allies. The Government of Canada, through the joint efforts of the Communications Security Establishment (CSE), its Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (Cyber Centre), and other departments and agencies, is working to create a safer and more secure cyber space for all.

Today, many of Canada’s allies and partners have made statements concerning the compromise of several Managed Service Providers. CSE also assesses that it is almost certain that actors likely associated with the People’s Republic of China (PRC) Ministry of State Security (MSS) are responsible for the compromise of several Managed Service Providers (MSP), beginning as early as 2016.

MSPs are an attractive, high-value target for threat actors. This is because MSPs typically have extensive access to multiple client networks in order to perform their job of IT specialist. The compromise of one MSP can affect multiple clients globally and provides a threat actor with access to multiple client systems and large amounts of sensitive data, leading to loss of proprietary information, disruption to business operations, financial loss, and potential harm to the affected organization’s reputation.

Upon detection of this cyber threat, CSE and the Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC), which is now part of the Cyber Centre, reached out to MSPs in Canada to inform them of the threat and assist, as necessary. In early 2017, Canadian federal cyber security leads published guidance and advised Canadian industry partners on best practices for contracting with MSPs. That advice is still valid, and today the Cyber Centre is providing supplemental information in this Cyber Bulletin for both MSPs and clients of MSPs.

The government of Canada puts the safety and security of Canadians above all else and today’s attribution and new guidance published for MSPs is about ensuring Canadians and Canadian businesses are protected to the fullest extent possible. With this in mind, the Cyber Centre works as a single unified source of expert advice, guidance, and services and support on cyber security, and works closely with its partners in government, critical infrastructure, the private sector, and all Canadians to help defend Canadian networks against cyber threats like this one.

Cyber security remains a team effort, and the Cyber Centre always takes the opportunity to invite individual Canadians to read and follow our Top 10 IT Security Actions for important tips that will help protect against cyber threats. Canada will continue to work with its allies to address malicious cyber activity that undermines Canada’s national and economic security.

Le Canada et ses alliés attribuent une cybercompromission à la Chine

La cybersécurité représente l’un des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontés le Canada et ses alliés sur le plan de l’économie et de la sécurité nationale. Grâce aux efforts concertés du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST), de son Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité et d’autres ministères et organismes, le gouvernement du Canada travaille activement à renforcer la sécurité du cyberespace pour nous tous.

Aujourd’hui, de nombreux alliés et partenaires du Canada ont fait des déclarations sur la compromission de plusieurs fournisseurs de services gérés (FSG). Le CST estime lui aussi qu’il est presque certain que des auteurs probablement associés au ministère de la Sécurité d’État de la République populaire de Chine sont responsables de la compromission de plusieurs FSG, qui remonterait à 2016.

Les FSG sont des cibles alléchantes de grande valeur pour les auteurs de cybermenace, car ils disposent généralement d’un accès considérable à de multiples réseaux de clients afin de fournir leurs services de TI. La compromission d’un FSG peut toucher plusieurs clients partout dans le monde et permettre à un auteur de menace d’accéder à de multiples systèmes de clients et à un grand nombre de données sensibles, ce qui risque d’entraîner la perte d’information exclusive, de perturber des activités opérationnelles, de causer des pertes financières et de nuire à la réputation de l’organisme touché.

Lorsque la cybermenace en question a été détectée, le CST et le Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents cybernétiques (CCRIC), qui fait maintenant partie du Centre pour la cybersécurité, ont informé les FSG canadiens de la menace et offert, au besoin, leur assistance.

Au début de 2017, des responsables fédéraux canadiens de la cybersécurité ont publié un document d’orientation et conseillé des partenaires de l’industrie au Canada sur les pratiques exemplaires en matière de passation de marchés avec des FSG. Ces avis sont toujours valables, et le Centre pour la cybersécurité présente aujourd’hui de l’information complémentaire dans le document d’orientation à l’intention des FSG et de leurs clients.

Le gouvernement du Canada accorde par-dessus tout la priorité à la sécurité des Canadiens, et l’attribution d’aujourd’hui et le nouveau document d’orientation publié à l’intention des FSG visent à assurer la meilleure protection possible des Canadiens et des entreprises canadiennes. C’est dans cette optique et en tant que source unifiée d’avis, de conseils, de services et de soutien spécialisés en matière de cybersécurité, le Centre pour la cybersécurité travaille en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement, les propriétaires et exploitants d’infrastructures essentielles, le secteur privé, les alliés et tous les Canadiens pour défendre les réseaux du Canada contre les cybermenaces comme celle-ci.

La cybersécurité, c’est l’affaire de tous. Le Centre pour la cybersécurité invite donc les citoyens canadiens à consulter et à mettre en œuvre ses 10 mesures de sécurité des TI, qui renferment des conseils importants sur la façon de se protéger contre les cybermenaces. Le Canada continuera de travailler avec ses alliés pour contrer les cyberactivités malveillantes qui portent atteinte à sa sécurité nationale et à son économie.