Government of Canada Invests In National Security Infrastructure - May 22, 2008

Ottawa - The Honourable Peter Gordon MacKay, Minister of National Defence and Minister of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency is pleased to announce the planned construction of a new facility for the Communications Security Establishment (CSE). CSE, together with Defence Construction Canada (DCC), is planning the construction of a four-storey, 6000 m2 building on land acquired from the National Research Council on Ogilvie Road in Ottawa. The estimated building costs are $62M.

"A safe and secure Canada is one of the Government's top priorities and CSE performs vital functions in safeguarding Canada's security" said the Honourable Peter MacKay. John Adams, Chief of CSE added "The construction of this new facility will allow CSE to continue to meet the government's intelligence requirements, while our important work will be bolstered by the creation of a purpose-built and technologically advanced work environment".

Since the events of September 11, 2001, CSE has hired hundreds of new employees and utility demands have significantly increased over the past few years. As a result, CSE's current campus, located in Ottawa's Confederation Heights region - is no longer able to support the agency's day-to-day operations.

The new 6000 m2 building will be located on approximately 36 hectares of land and could hold up to 250 people. A design build request for proposal for the project will be tendered late in spring 2008, with an anticipated contract to be awarded in early summer 2008. CSE plans to occupy the building in the summer of 2011.

This new building will alleviate CSE's immediate space and power requirements.

CSE is Canada's national cryptologic agency. It provides the Government of Canada with two key services: foreign signals intelligence in support of defence and foreign policy and the protection of the government's electronic information and communications.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Adrian Simpson

Media relations/Public Affairs
Communications Security Establishment
613-991-7248

Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans l'infrastructure de sécurité nationale - 22 mai 2008

Ottawa - L'honorable Peter Gordon MacKay, ministre de la Défense nationale et ministre de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, est heureux d'annoncer la construction prévue d'un nouvel immeuble pour le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST). Le CST, en collaboration avec Construction de Défense Canada, prévoit la construction d'un immeuble de 6 000 m2 à quatre étages sur un terrain acquis du Conseil national de recherches, sur le chemin Ogilvie à Ottawa. Les coûts des travaux de construction sont évalués à 62 M$.

« Un Canada en sécurité est l'une des plus grandes priorités du gouvernement, et le CST exerce des fonctions essentielles à la protection du pays », a déclaré l'honorable Peter MacKay. John Adams, chef du CST, a ajouté : « La construction de cette nouvelle installation permettra au CST de continuer à répondre aux besoins en renseignement du gouvernement. Notre travail important sera appuyé par un milieu de travail conçu spécialement pour nos besoins et à la fine pointe de la technologie. »

Depuis les événements du 11 septembre 2001, le CST a embauché des centaines de nouveaux employés et la demande en services publics a augmenté de façon considérable au cours des quelques dernières années. Par conséquent, le campus actuel du CST, situé dans le secteur Confederation Heights à Ottawa, n'est plus adapté aux activités quotidiennes de l'organisme.

Le nouvel immeuble de 6 000 m2 sera situé sur environ 36 hectares de terrain et pourrait accueillir jusqu'à 250 employés. Une demande de proposition pour un projet de type conception construction sera présentée vers la fin du printemps 2008, et le contrat devrait être octroyé au début de l'été 2008. Le CST prévoit occuper l'immeuble à l'été 2011.

Ce nouvel immeuble répondra aux besoins immédiats en espace et en électricité du CST.

Le CST est l'organisme national de cryptologie du Canada. Il fournit au gouvernement du Canada deux services importants : la prestation de renseignement électromagnétique (SIGINT) étranger qui appuie la politique étrangère et la politique de défense, et la protection des communications et de l'information électroniques du gouvernement.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Adrian Simpson

Relations avec les médias, Affaires publiques
Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications
613-991-7248