Letter to the Editor: Ottawa Sun - May 26, 2013

RE: Spy Land, Ottawa Sun - May 26, 2013 (Huguette Young)

The story noted above contains several inaccuracies that CSE feels compelled to correct.

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) is Canada's national cryptologic agency. The Government of Canada has publicly acknowledged the existence of CSE since 1983.

CSE Signals Intelligence activities relate exclusively to foreign intelligence. CSE is prohibited by law from directing its activities at Canadians anywhere or anyone in Canada. Therefore CSE is prohibited from taking action towards Canadians in Quebec as incorrectly stated in the article of May 26. Since 1996, the independent CSE Commissioner who reviews CSE activities to ensure compliance with the law, has determined that all of CSE's activities reviewed complied with the law.

The current CSE campus relies on 50-year old infrastructure that no longer meets the needs of the organization. After an extensive study, the Government determined that a Public Private Partnership procurement option would provide the best value for money, and cost and construction schedule certainty. The project is currently on time and on budget.

The new CSE facility Request for Proposal (RFP) process was subject to an extensive evaluation in accordance with Treasury Board policies and Canada's international obligations. A third party Fairness Monitor concluded that the competitive procurement process was conducted in a fair manner free from personal favouritism and political influence, and encompassed the elements of openness, competitiveness, integrity, transparency and compliance. The selected proponent, Plenary Group, is a Canadian company with offices in Toronto, Vancouver and Edmonton.

As communicated to Huguette Young in response to her inquiry, the bank and daycare facility located adjacent to the CSE site are commercial ventures, operated by the private sector and are not part of the CSE facility. A skating rink was proposed by Plenary Properties as part of their winning bid. The Government did not request this feature in the RFP and subsequently rejected this suggested feature.

Jean Plamondon

Director, Public Affairs and Communications Services

Communications Security Establishment (CSE)

Ottawa, Ontario

Lettre au rédacteur en chef du Ottawa Sun - 26 mai 2013

Objet : Article « Spy Land », Ottawa Sun - 26 mai 2013 (Huguette Young)

L’article mentionné précédemment contient plusieurs erreurs que le CST tient à corriger.

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) est l’organisme national de cryptologie du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît publiquement l’existence du CST depuis 1983.

Les activités du CST liées au renseignement électromagnétique portent exclusivement sur le renseignement étranger. Il est strictement interdit, par la loi, au CST de viser les Canadiens ou toute autre personne qui se trouve au Canada. Par conséquent, il est interdit au CST d’effectuer des activités visant des Canadiens dans la province de Québec, tel que mentionné incorrectement dans l’article paru le 26 mai dernier. Depuis 1996, le commissaire du CST, qui effectue un examen externe et indépendant des activités du CST afin d’en contrôler la légalité, a déterminé que toutes les activités du CST soumises à son examen étaient conformes à la loi.

Le campus actuel du CST repose sur une infrastructure vieille de 50 ans qui ne satisfait plus aux besoins de l’organisme. Après avoir effectué des études approfondies, le gouvernement a déterminé qu’un partenariat public-privé représentait l’option la plus rentable et la plus fiable au niveau des coûts et de l’échéance de la construction. À l’heure actuelle, le projet respecte les délais fixés ainsi que le budget.

Le processus de demandes de propositions (DP) lié aux nouvelles installations du CST a fait l’objet d’un examen approfondi, conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et aux obligations internationales du Canada. Un surveillant de l’équité indépendant a conclu dans son rapport que le processus d’approvisionnement s’est déroulé de manière équitable, sans influence politique ni favoritisme personnel, et a englobé les éléments d’ouverture, de concurrence, d’intégrité, de transparence et de conformité. Le promoteur choisi, Plenary Group, est une entreprise canadienne qui compte des sièges sociaux à Toronto, Vancouver et Edmonton.

Tel qu’il avait été mentionné à Mme Huguette Young, en réponse à sa question, la banque et la garderie situées à côté du site du CST sont des projets commerciaux exploités par le secteur privé et ne font pas partie des installations du CST. La patinoire faisait partie de la soumission de Plenary Properties dans le cadre de l’appel d’offres. Le gouvernement n’avait pas inclut cet élément à sa DP et a par la suite rejeté cette proposition.

Jean Plamondon

Directeur, Affaires publiques et services de communications

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST)

Ottawa, Ontario